Virtual Visit: Jen Carney, author of The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.

About the book:

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. is the first in a fresh, funny and inclusive middle-grade series which marks the arrival of Jen Carney, a major new author-illustrator talent. Illustrated throughout, B.U.G introduces readers to the hilarious world of Billie Upton Green and her whip-smart, silly and laugh-out-loud observations on life in her doodled-up diary. It’s perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Dork Diaries.

There is a new girl at Billie's school, and Billie takes it upon herself to show her around, teach her the Biscuit Laws, and remind her that yes, two women can get married (after all, Billie's mums' wedding is the event of the year).

But then suspicion sets in.

The new girl seems very close to Billie's best friend Layla. And doesn't she know a little too much about the latest big school heist - the theft of Mrs Robinson's purse...?

What to Expect During the session:

Join author-illustrator Jen Carney for 45 minutes of fun as she introduces her debut novel The Accidental Diary of B.U.G. Grab your paper and pens for an interactive session that includes an introduction to the Biscuit Laws, a draw-along, a side-splitting reading, a five-minute writing challenge, and some insider information about how Jen came to be a published author by never giving up on her dream. Jen will also answer some of your pupils’ burning questions so don’t forget to send these in advance by emailing [email protected] with Jen Carney in the subject line.

Read the free chapter sample and download this activity pack for lesson ideas linked to the book.

Get a copy of the book from your local independent bookshop. 

Sign up to register your class or school to join Jen Carney’s virtual visit on 2nd July and to get emails from Puffin Schools with the Zoom link for the virtual visit, information to help you plan for the event and event reminders.

Which year group(s) is watching?

By signing up, I confirm that I'm over 16. To find out what personal data we collect and how we use it, please visit our Privacy Policy.